

August 19, 2009 **BOARD TRAINING SESSION** MIGRANT HEAD START PROGRAM 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM ADOPTED MINUTES

DISTRICT OFFICE HUMAN RESOURCES CONFERENCE ROOM

294 Green Valley Road Watsonville, CA 95076

1.0 OPENING CEREMONY - MEETING OF THE BOARD IN PUBLIC - 6:00 P.M.

President De Rose called the training of the Board to order at 6:07 pm.

Pledge of Allegiance 1.1

Trustee Keegan led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

1.2 **Welcome by Board President**

Trustees, Doug Keegan, Sandra Nichols, Kim Turley, Libby Wilson, Willie Yahiro, and President Leslie De Rose were present. Trustee Karen Osmundson was absent.

2.0 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Trustee Keegan moved to approve the agenda. Trustee Wilson seconded the motion. The motion passed 6/0/1 (Osmundson absent).

TRAINING REGARDING MIGRANT HEAD START PROGRAM 3.0

Carole Clarke, Director of Migrant Head Start (MHS) opened the training on Governance Responsibilities for Board and Policy Councils. She introduced James L. Pasley Jr., the Fiscal Content Specialist, who would lead the training.

Mr. Pasley walked the Board through a presentation that included goals and a review of federal laws governing the programs that assist MHS. He also spoke about the Board of Directors and their authority, noting that the Board is responsible and liable for the management of the agency. He touched on the role of the Policy Council. Mr. Pasley also talked to the Board about the allotment of funds and the limitations of assistance as well as how the Head Start agencies and programs are monitored.

In conclusion, Mr. Pasley noted that Boards and policy groups should work together to provide high quality and comprehensive service to children and families.

Public comment:

Rhea DeHart, community member, stated that the Santa Clara County Office of Education has adopted personnel policies specifically meant to outline the requirements for MHS personnel.

4.0 **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to discuss, the training of the Board was adjourned at 10:04 pm.

Dorma Baker, Secretary to the Board